The First Total Lunar Eclipse of 2014 Will Be Visible Tonight In North and South America

Lunar Eclipse

Residents of North and South America will get a chance to see the year’s first total lunar eclipse late tonight / early tomorrow. The celestial event will begins at 0600 GMT (2AM ET, 11PM PT) and will last around 3.5 hours. The Earth’s shadow on the moon will cause the lunar surface to appear as a burnt red color, one of four such occurrences set for the next year and a half, with the next one happening October 8th, 2014. For anyone not in viewing range or expecting bad weather, Space.com will feature a live webcast of the event.

Lunar Eclipse

images via NASA

via Space.com

Follow Laughing Squid on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, LinkedIn, Tumblr, Email and RSS.

This post is sponsored by...


Advertise on Laughing Squid -- Ad campaigns start out at $40/month for 20K impressions.