Ol’ Yellow Eyes Is Back, An Album of Crooning Oldies by Brent Spiner of ‘Star Trek: The Next Generation’

Ol Yellow Eyes Is Back Brent Spiner

In 1991, the incredibly talented performer Brent Spiner recorded Ol’ Yellow Eyes Is Back, an album of popular songs from the 1930s and 1940s. The album title paid clever homage to both the Frank Sinatra album Ol’ Blue Eyes Is Back and to Lieutenant Commander Data, the android character he played on Star Trek: The Next Generation.

1 Time After Time
2 The Very Thought Of You
3 More Than You Know
4 Toot Toot Tootsie
5 Embraceable You
6 It’s A Sin (To Tell A Lie)
7 Long, Long Time
8 Carolina In The Morning
9 Marie
10 Zing! Went The Strings Of My Heart
11 When I Fall In Love
12 Goodnight, Sweetheart

The cover of the song “It’s A Sin (To Tell A Lie)” by The Ink Spots featured an appearance by “The Sunspots”, a vocal group made up of co-stars LeVar Burton, Michael Dorn, Jonathan Frakes, and Sir Patrick Stewart. Series associate producer Wendy Neuss and composer Dennis McCarthy also worked on the album with Spiner.

via Josh Ellingson

Lori Dorn
Lori Dorn

Lori is a Laughing Squid Contributing Editor based in New York City who has been writing blog posts for over a decade. She also enjoys making jewelry, playing guitar, taking photos and mixing craft cocktails.